CCRC FF1600 Championship » Castle Combe Racing Club
Championships » FF1600 Championship

CCRC FF1600 Championship

CCRC FF1600 Championship

Formula Ford Championship 

Club racing at its best!! Catering for Kent engined Formula Ford 1600s, this superb championship has been a crowd favourite at the circuit since 1969. The Castle Combe Championship is now the oldest in the country and arguably the most successful, blending intense competition with a friendly atmosphere amongst the competitors. Large grids and close racing ensure the success of the Championship for competitors, sponsors and spectators alike!

New for 2018 -
Double headers added this year to make the race days better value for money.

Slightly tweaked class structure - Class C is now 1985 >1989 cars and class D has changed to Pre 1985 cars.

With the change in class structure for 2018 it is hoped to encourage more of the older cars back to the championship

  • Classes & Championship Information

    Four classes allow any type of Kent- engined Formula Ford 1600 to run competitively against its peers.

    • No. of Rounds: 9
    • Round to Count: 7
    • No. of Laps: 15 single rounds, 2 x 10 laps for Double headers
    • MSA Licence Type: National 'B'
    • MSA Championship Grade: D
    • MSA Permit Number: CH2018/ R077


    Class TypeClass DescriptionLap RecordRecord HolderRecord Vehicle
    Class A - Post 95' Caters for the latest generation cars built after the 1st January 1996. 1:09.866 Michael Moyers  Spectrum 011c
    Class B - 1990-1995 For cars built between 01/01/1990 and 31/12/1995. 1:10.337 Luke Cooper  Swift SC92
    Class C - 1985 -1989 For cars built between 01/01/1985 and 31/12/1989. 1:14.133 Steve Bracegirdle  Van Diemen RF89  14-7-18
    Class D - Pre 85 Is for pre-195 classic cars. 1.28.773 Joshua Mason  Van Diemen RF80
  • History of the Championship

    The Castle Combe Racing Club Formula Ford 1600 series lays rightful claim to being Britain's oldest regional FF1600 series. First held in 1969, it pre-empted the Champion of Brands series by a year.

    Early FF1600 visitors included the Frank Williams Racing Team, later to become Williams Grand Prix Engineering, with American driver John Bisignano, as well as future multiple British Touring Car champion Andy Rouse who cut his teeth in a Dulon LD4C. How many fans in the crowd on September 11 1976 could have realised they were witnessing a future British world champion in FF1600 race winner Nigel Mansell?

    The 1978 season was another landmark in Castle Combe history, with the closure of the Llandow circuit in South Wales, the FF1600 and Special Saloon Car Championships became one circuit series. Prior to that, both had been known as BRSCC South West series featuring rounds at both circuits. Indeed, in its early years, the FF1600 championship has also taken in races at Thruxton.

    However, in the circuit's 50-year history, few drivers have been as successful as quadruple champions Bob Higgins and Gavin Wills. Both have records that stand close scrutiny, for with a little more luck, either could have added a fifth or perhaps even a sixth title.

  • Previous Champions
    Year Driver Car
    2017 Josh Fisher  Van Diemen JL14
    2016 Roger Orgee Jnr Van Diemen RF00
    2015 Roger Orgee Jnr Van Diemen RF00
    2014 Adam Higgins Van Diemen JL12
    2013 Adam Higgins Van Diemen JL12
    2012 Ben Norton Spectrum 10b
    2011 Rob Hall Swift SC11
    2010 Marcus Allen Swift SC92F
    2009 Ben Norton Spectrum 011
    2008 Josh Fisher Mygale SJ03
    2007 Ed Moore Van Diemen RF00
    2006 Matt Rivett Ray GR97
    2005 Tim Reynolds Swift SC92F
    2004 Ed Moore Van Diemen RF01
    2003 Chris Axford Swift SC92F
    2002 Simon Ashley Swift SC92F
    2001 John Hutchinson Van Diemen RF90
    2000 John Hutchinson Van Diemen RF90
    1999 Richard Carter Van Diemen RF92
    1998 Richard Carter Van Diemen RF92
    1997 Kevin Mills Swift SC92F
    1996 Kevin Mills Swift SC92F
    1995 Kevin Mills Swift SC92F
    1994 Gavin Wills Swift SC92F
    1993 Gavin Wills Swift SC92F
    1992 Bob Higgins Reynard FF91
    1991 Nigel Jenkins Reynard FF90
    1990 Nigel Jenkins Reynard FF89
    1989 Gavin Wills Van Diemen RF89
    1988 Gavin Wills Van Diemen RF86
    1987 David Llewellyn Van Diemen RF86
    1986 Robert Davies Van Diemen RF84
    1985 Howard Lester Reynard FF83
    1984 Martin Cooper Royale RP33M and Reynard FF83/84
    1983 Bob Higgins Royale RP29A
    1982 Bob Higgins Martlet DM4
    1981 Bob Higgins Martlet DM3/DM4
    1980 Steve Lincoln Royale RP26
    1979 Geoff Davies Crossle 32F
    1978 Mike Wallaker Jomic Mk2
    1977 David Wheeler Royale RP21A
    1976 David Toye Royale RP21
    1975 Terry Richards Merlyn Mk11A
    1974 Roger Orgee Dulon MP15
    1973 Clive Power Dulon MP15
    1972 Buzz Buzaglo Elden Mk10
    1971 Mike Campbell-Cole Merlyn Mk11A
    1970 Peter Lamplough Palliser WDF2
    1969 Bryan Sharp Merlyn Mk11A

Latest News


CCRC FF1600 Championship

QUALIFYING - The 50th Formula Ford season at Combe continues to be sparsely populated, thanks partly to the popularity of the National championship for the 1600cc Kent-engined cars, yet the speed...

Read the full article… Read All Championship News…

2019 Events

2018 Events

Monday 2nd April 2018 Howard's Day Race Day
Sunday 8th April 2018 MARSHALS TRAINING DAY
Tuesday 24th & Tuesday 24th April 2018 AGM & Guest Speaker
Monday 7th May 2018 May Day Madness Race Day
Monday 28th May 2018 Combe Carnival Race Day
Saturday 9th June 2018 CCRC TRACK DAY
Saturday 14th & Sunday 15th July 2018 BRSCC TCR Race Weekend
Saturday 11th & Sunday 12th August 2018 BRSCC Caterham Race Weekend
Monday 27th August 2018 Combe Countdown Race day
Saturday 15th September 2018 Grand Finals Race Day
Saturday 6th October 2018 CCRC AUTUMN CLASSIC
Saturday 10th November 2018 CCRC Awards Night
Sunday 19th March 2017 Marshals Training Day
Monday 17th April 2017 Howards Day Results
Monday 1st May 2017 Early May Bank Holiday Race Day Results
Monday 29th May 2017 Late May Bank Holiday Race Day Results
Saturday 15th & Sunday 16th July 2017 BRSCC Weekender Results
Saturday 12th & Sunday 13th August 2017 West Country Cracker Results
Monday 28th August 2017 August Bank Holiday Race Day Results
Saturday 7th October 2017 Autumn Classic Results
Saturday 14th October 2017 Grand Finals Day Results
Saturday 11th November 2017 CCRC Awards Night

BRSCC Caterham Race Weekend


11 August 2018 to 12 August 2018

National Windscreens
Pro Alloys
Wiltshire College
Melksham Motor Spares
Sonic Tools